Byouki – Illness

[Created by Me]

I believe that I have somehow managed to catch the flu sometime during this past weekend.

Normally, I wouldn’t care too much about a common sickness that I experience practically on an annual basis, but this year is different because my kanji studies are being directly interfered with. What makes this even worse is that this week will be the first time that I will actually have free time in a long time.

What’s most important when studying anything is having your brain and body be in top condition. The constant migraines that I’m dealing with the moment any medicine I’ve taken as worn certainly doesn’t make concentrating on the fine details that differentiate two very similar kanji apart from each other, much less remember their meanings and readings. The weather suddenly taking a turn for the cold certainly doesn’t help at all with the fever I am currently experiencing either.

Now, you might be thinking to yourself that this post is just me lamenting on how at least three days of Thanksgiving break will be completely wasted with me attempting to recover from my flu instead of learning Japanese, and you’re absolutely right. To me, there’s nothing worse than having an abundance of free time yet not being able to study kanji.

On the other hand, not being able study kanji while suddenly inheriting a windfall of free time has given me the exact excuse I need to study more grammar, which is exactly what I did yesterday by skimming through two entire JLPT N5-N4 level Japanese textbooks to review any grammar concepts and vocabulary as well as to pick up any new ones that I have yet to learn.

While I may currently be sick and unable to study as much kanji as I would have liked to, I now am able to state with great certainty that I am presently somewhere in the void between N4 and N3.

Leave a Reply

