Ongaku – Music

(CC BY-SA 3.0)

While I do very much love kanji, I most certainly love music more than anything else, and my music collection (maybe agglomeration would be more appropriate here due to its sheer size) of 10982 (and growing) songs that would take almost 800 hours to fully listen to certainly affirms my devotion towards music. I should also probably mention that, according to statistics, I have spent over 4,000 hours of my life these past 2 years listening to music. On a side note, I am also a pianist and am currently studying music production, so I don’t just love consuming music; I have a strong passion for performing and composing music as well.

Moving on to the actual topic, I happened to realize how much the meanings of the kanji that constitute the Japanese word for “music” 「音楽」 apply to my opinion of music as I was listening to one of my favorite songs. The kanji used in the word 「音楽」are 「音」, meaning “sound” or “noise”, and 「楽」, meaning ”comfort” or “ease” and also “music” because of its use in the word for music. Taking the appropriate meanings from each of the constituent kanji, we get the meaning of “sound of comfort” when we combine them together, and I most definitely feel comfort and ease whenever I hear the sound of music playing, whenever I play music, and even as I write music.

I believe that any emotions, whether it be happiness, sadness, fear, or anger, can be expressed through music in their pure and undiluted form, and I hope that I will be able to express those same emotions just as purely with kanji.

Leave a Reply

